Irish Open Tenpin Bowling Championship | Men’s Championship 1991

Stillorgan Bowl, Dublin | 27 January 1991

Stepladder Final

1Del DelaneyGreat Britain
2Mat ThompsonNetherlands
3Cliff DewGreat Britain
4Theo ThienpondiNetherlands

Reference: [1]

Stepladder Results

Player 1 Player 2 
Cliff Dew255Theo Thienpondi249
Del Delaney205Cliff Dew102
Del Delaney188Mat Thompson163

Reference: [1]

Semi-Finals (After 11 Games)

1Mat ThompsonNetherlands2550
2Del DelaneyGreat Britain2448
3Theo ThienpondiNetherlands2379
4Cliff DenGreat Britain2378
5Philip DunneIreland2372
6Chis BuckGreat Britain2257
7Bob NewfieldGreat Britain2250
8Paul MageeIreland2236
9Eric KokNetherlands2217
10Phil SeamaelGreat Britain2206
11Geoff BuckGreat Britain2153
12Joe PearceIreland1911

Reference: [1]


Ireland’s Philip Dunne narrowly failed to reach the Final Stepladder in the Irish Open Tenpin Bowling Championship, finishing just 6 skittles off a Top 4 Place.

Britain’s Del Delaney went on to win the Championship, defeating the Dutchman Mat Thompson 188 to 163 in the Final. Ireland’s Paul Magee (8th) and Joe Pearce (12th) also reached the Semi-Final Round in the Stillorgan Bowl




[1] Anon. (1991) “The A-Z of Weekend Sport | Tenpin Bowling” Irish Independent. Monday, 28 January 1991. Pg. 20.


Thanks to Graeme Ryan.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 1 August 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *